Review #413: Cosmo’s Factory, Creedence Clearwater Revival

Karla Clifton
3 min readJul 7, 2023

--

#413: Cosmo’s Factory, Creedence Clearwater Revival

There was not as much CCR love as I expected on the RS 500 list. RS calls this their “third classic album in under year,” yet they only list one more album, Willie & The Poor Boys. I assume the third record they mean is Green River (“Bad Moon Rising”) but I digress.

This album has their take on “I Heard It Through The Grapevine,” which is a song that I love every version of (check out the Slits) though the original remains my favorite. That’s the cover RS wants to talk about, but I preferred their cover of “Ooby Dooby” by Dick & Wade, who were like the Harvey Danger of 1970 in that they had one flukey one hit wonder that lived far longer than their little band. Everyone wants to cover Marvin Gaye, but how cool is it to immortalize two dudes who wrote the song over a six-pack on a Lambda Chi roof? See also their Bo Diddley (“Before You Accuse Me (Take A Look At Yourself)”) and Arthur Crudup (“My Baby Left Me”) covers.

Fogerty takes his instant classics and sandwiches them inbetween established classics. “Travelin’ Band” is a badass car-windows-down song about touring life that might explain why Claudette Rogers Robinson noped out of it. The charming “Lookin’ Out My Back Door” was written for Fogerty’s three-year-old son. And this wouldn’t be a CCR album without a without a political screed, in this case “Run Through The Jungle” about guns.

Two obvious standout moments: the intro to “Up Around the Bend” and the chorus of “Who’ll Stop The Rain.” Also “Ramble Tamble,” the seven-minute guitar solo. The only one I didn’t like was, predictably, the slower one, “Long As I Can See The Light.” That said, I think both CCR albums I’ve seen have been high-energy, punchy, and very fun. So for once, I do wish that RS included their third “classic” record. Oh well!

Unhappy Fact: If you want to read something kind of sad today, read this article on their 1993 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Horrible Fact: This album, and Fogerty’s perceived ego, caused some acrimony between John Fogerty and his older brother Tom, who left by the end of 1970. Ten years later, Tom contracted HIV through a routine blood transfusion. Ten years later, he died. They never reconciled, but John later said, “I’m not angry anymore. I love my brother. Also, I sure loved the old family days. The way we were as kids. It’s resolved.”

Palette Cleanser For The Two Sad Facts: Creedence Clearwater Revival is one of those bands that I feel stupid saying no matter how I say it. CCR is too speedy, and Creedence is too, I don’t know, dramatic. Plus it reminds me of Creed. I guess it just makes me feel like a poser.

Review #412: Going To A Go-Go, Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

Review #414: Risque, Chic

--

--